Best Herbal Formulas for PTSD?

forum post

Best Herbal Formulas for PTSD?

Published on 06-05-2019

"anon75030" - this is their first post.

Hi, I’m a student of acupuncture and oriental medicine. I’m doing a paper on PTSD for an herbal treatment of disease class. I’m looking to find its equivalent differentiation and what formulas are available for it based on TCM. Do you have a list of formulas commonly used for this condition? What herbal reference(s) do you recommend? Is there a resource that shows its effectiveness when taken formulas by itself compared to taking it and doing acupuncture at the same time? Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

This post has the following associations:

Issues/Symptoms: anxiety

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
on Jun 2019

I know you are not exactly asking this way, because you mention pattern differentiation, but because this is a public forum I want to make sure that people understand that the term PTSD is functionally irrelevant in Chinese Medicine (and in some ways, albeit different, in western medicine due the myriad manifestations of symptoms). So there are potentially some common patterns, but given the complexity of the condition trying to narrow those down is more likely to be a dis-service to Chinese Medicine instead of an aid. The entire point of pattern differentiation (i.e. TCM diagnostic approaches - see "treating the cause vs. the symptoms) is to treat what you see in that individual, to tailor directly to them with no attempt at correlating their western “condition” with anything they are experiencing as the “condition” is just a name and nothing more, but their experience, what their individual body has gone through, and is going through, how their root imbalances were challenged, etc. that is what you treat and the more effectively you do that with Chinese Medicine the more the system shows its true value.