Collapse during acupuncture

forum post

Collapse during acupuncture

Published on 10-28-2011

"Kitsune" has authored 6 other posts.

Hello,

first I would like to apologize for starting so many topics recently, but it seems I just have so many questions pop up this month, hopefully things will settle down soon... :)

I've had an unfortunate experience that I know rarely happens during
acupuncture, yet I was hoping I would never witness it personally. A
friend of mine suffers from lower back pain, and I did
acupuncture on her last week with no problems whatsoever. She has had
low blood pressure in the past, but that has been under control over
the last year. Her only other known medical condition is rheumatoid arthritis, she is in
her 50s, and physically quite fit. We've had some "heavy" weather this week in these
parts, however, she said she was feeling well upon arrival for
her second session. Her heart rate and pulse seemed even and strong, yet I am still learning how to read pulses well (she is aware of this).

The only thing we did differently is that she was not lying on her stomach (since that position hurt her back), but was sitting on a chair, leaning comfortably forward on some pillows on a
table - the position you've suggested to me, and which she found very comfortable and suitable. After inserting about 5 needles (I started with the BL points), with feedback from her that it felt quite good and comfortable, she pretty much collapsed, incredibly suddenly. She didn't pass out, but nearly, and she felt awful (incredibly dizzy, sweating, pale, very nauseous, tunnel vision, tingly hands etc), it came on within a second of her saying she is feeling great, and quite soon after we started. I of course immediately removed the needles and helped her to the bed, and did everything to help her current medical situation. It took her at least half an hour to feel better, and even by the time someone came to drive her home she was still not feeling well