Eft

forum post

Eft

Published on 10-10-2008

"slfroedge" has authored 3 other posts.

I am not sure if this is the best forum for this question. I wasn't sure where it would be most appropriate to ask.

I have read that EFT, or emotional freedom technique, is based upon tapping accupuncture points with self-talk to help with diverse issues.

Here is my question:

Do you believe it would be helpful or harmful to play a tapping game (EFT) with children to improve learning? The tapping points would include the areas near these points (the children themselves do the tapping): in this order== UB2, GB1, ST2, GV26, CV24, CV22 & KD27, LV14. The game is meant to be fun, supportive, and done while singing a rhyming song (Tom Tinker, Eye Winker, Nose Dripper, Mouth Eater, Chin Chomper, ....).

Background: I am a special education teacher in public elementary school. My students have developmental delays, moderate to severe, or multiple disabilities. I use a variety of multi-sensory teaching/learning strategies.

If you think this EFT strategy is inapporpriate or ineffective, could you recommend another strategy that would be supportive and encourage learning (especially retention of learning)?

Below are the most recent, view all here.

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
on Oct 2008

EFT and our energy healing technique, Tong Ren Therapy, are loosely similar in a few ways. Certainly any form of energy healing/acupressure/acupuncture, etc. is perfectly fine and highly recommended with children. Developmental disabilities and focus/concentration issues are commonly treated with any of the methods.