Energy self-protection when practicing massage/bodywork

forum post

Energy self-protection when practicing massage/bodywork

Published on 04-28-2010

"MillyOz" has authored 1 other post.

Hi :) I am a massge therapy student and have been studying for few months and have done apx. 50 massages. We have been tought by our lecturer to protect ourselves when giving massage by drawing the white light circle around our bodies.

I am used to doing so as I use it in other situations too, though it doesnt seem to work lately. After I give massage I am left drained, emotionally and mentally, sometimes to the point my abdomen hurts, my gut feeling tells me it's psychosomatic rather than physical. I was wondering..what do you do to protect yourself? Or what do other people do? One of my colleagues told me..maybe I give too much energy out...

Thank you for your input.

Milly

Below are the most recent, view all here.

• ACU point UB15 - 12-31-2021
  • Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
    on Apr 2010

Hello Milly. There are a few related posts on this forum where I've offered my opinion on this matter. The most recent one I could find is here. I can never quite find the right words to discuss this matter without seeming somewhat confrontational - but basically I don't believe in this kind of transference and thinking about it in the terms that get tossed around by many practitioners leads to far more detriment (for them and their patients) than any kind of good. Giving out "too much" energy, taking in "evil qi" - all of these are quite negative in many ways and show a poor understanding of what is (and isn't) happening when working on other people. A recent study, for example, found that just by looking at someone who is sick your immune system is activated - imagine what happens when you throw in working directly with them and on top of that some altruism.... Nothing bad assuredly.