Hyperhidrosis (excessive sweating)

forum post

Hyperhidrosis (excessive sweating)

Published on 06-16-2011

"heidi" - this is their first post.

Hello all,

I am currently writing my dissertation on a case study of a patient that sufferers with hyperhidrosis (axillary and palmar) but has had ETS (endoscopic thoracic sympathectomy) in order to relieve the symptoms. This didn't work as the secondary sweating was worse than before surgery.

I am looking to include any point combinations you have found to be sucessful or turning points within treatments that practitioners have found useful in treating this condidtion. I am studying Five Element acupuncture but would love to hear from practitioners of any style.

So far I have had great sucess in reducing the severity with six treatments, however there is still work to be done!

Thank you for your time.

Best Wishes

Heidi Forrester

Third yr Student at CTA

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
on Jun 2011

I've answered this question a few times already on the site - this post has some of the answers and within that post there is a link to a previous one...

top Login/Comment

comment by "archived-user"
on Jun 2011

Day time sweating is Qi deficincy, night time sweating is yin deficincy, for hyperhidrosis use acupuncture points: Si3, Ht6, Li4, Kd7, Sp6. For Qi deficincy use herb formula: Yu Ping Feng San, for Yin deficincy use herb formula: Liu Wei Di Huang Wan.

top Login/Comment

on Jun 2011

If you want more specific advice it may help to ask very specific questions. For example, below is response to Feng you say you are "treating earth" - how exactly are you doing that? By seeing what you are doing in very exact terms (what points, how long, what other techniques, etc.) it helps us to offer different approaches. Otherwise there are thousands of things we could say but you may not need to hear all of those :)

top Login/Comment

comment by "heidi"
on Jun 2011

Hello Feng Mai,