Treating a child for constipation

forum post

Treating a child for constipation

Published on 04-01-2013

"Elineki" has authored 5 other posts.

I am a fully trained, but only recently graduated/ licensed acupuncturist. I have now been asked by a friend to treat her little girl who's only two years old for severe constipation. She's been treated by western doctors ( hospital) but they cannot do any more for her than to describe more laxatives for her. Horrible at such a young age! Ofcourse I am anxious to help this family but I do hesitate since we did nog get any training in school on treating children. Nor are there any experienced acupuncturists nearby. Now what to do... Should I keep my hands off her or try and start carefully with some massaging for example. (Ofcouse I am now studying the books on pediatrics and browsing articles from the internet. But there's not so much to be found... ( strange?)

kind regards, Eline

This post has the following associations:

Issues/Symptoms: constipation

Acupoints: li 10, st 36, st 37

Below are the most recent, view all here.

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "Elineki"
on Apr 2013

Thank you for your reassurance!

Eline

top Login/Comment

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
on Apr 2013

Honestly I wouldn&#39t over think it very much, children respond very favorably to acupuncture with minimal treatment. Just diagnose and treat using the regular diagnostic procedures and you should be fine. Children often respond much better than adults.