Keeping embryo healthy?

forum post

Keeping embryo healthy?

Published on 10-13-2011

"Kitsune" has authored 6 other posts.

Hello,

I am new to treating with acupuncture, and would greatly appreciate some of your wise input.

My current human patient is a 35 year old woman who has been trying to conceive for many years now, and has failed to do so naturally or with IVF treatment. She recently came to me, and I have done some acupuncture to boost her fertility. The IVF treatment post our sessions has been successful, and she is now pregnant. Yet this is only the first week of her pregnancy.

She would like to continue seeing me, since they did warn her that her current pregnancy is of course not a sure sign that it will actually last.

I have looked up points in books and on various sources online (inluding on here), that help during pregnancy, but I mostly keep finding points that are related to miscarriage problems (UB, KD, SP, ST, GV, ). Or to some general points good for the genital area and uterus (ST, CV). All of these require her to have some sort of problem already, that I can identify and then choose the points based on that.

But the acupuncture I am looking for is the one that will prevent problems from starting.

I am familiar with points contraindicated during pregnancy.

Therefore, do you have any ideas which points are appropriate for her situation? She is basically healthy, has just conceived with IVF and is eager to keep the embryo developing healthily.

(Also, out of curiosity, which are your preferred fertility points: I was taught to use the abdominal conception vessel and stomach points, do you agree with that?)

Thank you very much for your time and effort,

I.

This post has the following associations:

Acupoints: gv 20, pc 6, st 36

Below are the most recent, view all here.

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
on Oct 2011