Social Anxiety

forum post

Social Anxiety

Published on 09-08-2009

"acubalance" - this is their first post.

I'm a new acupuncture student and I'm only working on patient diagnosis (not needling yet) but I'm curious about this one case: I have a patient who seems to have social anxiety, however she's not afraid to be talking to people. She suffers from extreme blushing, sweating and hives when in one-on-one interactions (these all occured as I was questioning her....which she said is usually the case). She said she's not afraid of the situation, but her body seems to act nervous even though she doesn't feel nervous emotionally. She said it began after using Xenadrine (which contained Ephedra) and she describes it as "I feel like my nervous system just doesn't work anymore". She said she had been seeing another acupuncturist for it but it hasn't helped. The points she showed me she was needled seem to be anxiety points...SP 6, KD6, PC7. Any suggestions?

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
on Sep 2009

Social phobias are certainly an interesting case as many times people can rationally think through the situation and tell themselves to be calm, yet it still will not happen. Cognitive behavioral therapy is often very helpful along with acupuncture treatment. This patient, however, having a symptom that started after taking an herbal formula is a little different. From a practitioner perspective your goal is to figure out whether some damage happened to her system from the formula or whether this just simply brought out something that was already in her just not to as strong of a degree. The way to do this is by questioning, of course, but also your sense and matching up her other signs and symptoms, tongue, pulse, palpation, etc.