Moxibustion Questions for Beginners

forum post

Moxibustion Questions for Beginners

Published on 07-12-2016

"anon24125" has authored 1 other post.

I am very new to acupuncture and Moxibustion. Would be grateful if you could answer the following questions. ( Note: I am just a regular guy, aged 30 - not a medical practitioner). The below questions are with reference to indirect moxa - without skin contact.

1. Can I do moxibustion when i’m sick (ie. fever, stomach ache, cough, cold, e.t.c)?
  2. Can I do moxibustion for pain in any part of the body?
  3. Any there any forbiden points for moxibustion?
  4. Can I do moxibustion at night before sleeping?
  5. Can I do moxibustion daily? or what is the maximum number of times I can do moxibustion per week? (as a general tonic, or as therapy)
  6. Are there any forbidden times when you are not supposed to do moxibustion?
  7. Can I do moxibustion immediately after a shower?
  8. Can i do moxibustion, alongwith homoepathic treatment?
  9. Is there any online course to learn moxibustion - for a layman / beginner?
  10. How can I tell if my moxa stick is pure mugwort or mixed? Is there any specific Moxa brand?
  11. Does it make a difference if I use a cigar moxa roll or the small sticky ones?
  12. What are the kind of effects can I expect after a moxa session?
  13. Can I try moxa for my aged parents?

Would be extremely grateful if you could answer these questions, as I have not found any website / blog addressing these.

Thanking you in advance.

Below are the most recent, view all here.

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
on Jul 2016

I would start by reading my introduction to moxibustion and then some of the more detailed sections within our Japanese acupuncture section (scroll down to “moxibustion techniques”. Particularly, the chinetsukyu (cone moxa) section.