Acupuncture Education for DO's and MD's

forum post

Acupuncture Education for DO's and MD's

Published on 05-18-2006

"archived-user" has authored 334 other posts.

I am currently a 2nd year medical student at University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine to become a DO. Most states require a certain amount of hours to practice acupuncture if you are already a MD or DO (300 av), or sometimes nothing at all! However, acupuncture is really my love and I plan on revolving my practice around using it. I am wondering if anyone knows a good way to go about getting trained in acupuncture as a DO or MD. I want to get a good education in acupuncture, however, I am already going to be in school forever!! I am very close with an acupuncturist who lives in Aruba, could I do an intership with him???

Please give me any information possible. I dont really have anyone to help me here at school with these questions.

thanks - Bethany

Below are the most recent, view all here.

• What is a cun? - 12-31-2021
  • Ion Cords - 12-31-2021
  • Headache after Acupuncture Treatment - 12-31-2021
  • Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
    on May 2006

Hello Bethany,

As you point out many states have no additional requirements for MD's to practice acupuncture and others have very limited requirements. This is done in large part because the types of conditions that MD's would actually treat in a medical setting are limited to those for which there has been sufficient research on the ways and means of treating that condition. In other words, they are licensed, trained and operate under the premise that acupuncture is a reproducible science that anyone can do if they simply follow a treatment protocol and insert the needles into well defined locations.