Applying Master Tung Points

forum post

Applying Master Tung Points

Published on 07-28-2017

"anon129242" has authored 2 other posts.

Hello!
I am a new TCM graduate. I am currently trying out/trying to understand the use of Master Tung points and Dr.Tan’s Balance points. My question is, when you apply distal Master Tung Points or Dr.Tan balance points say for back pain, is it important you have your patient move around to diminish the pain. Or can you insert them while they are laying on the table so you can insert other points aswell.

Below are the most recent, view all here.

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
on Jul 2017

I’m not the best qualified to answer this as I only have limited experience with those systems. But to answer more generally - there are those more “active” systems or sets of techniques within acupuncture (for example, removal of pressure pain in the abdomen for certain japanese systems). So part of how you are evaluating your point selection and technique is immediate feedback through the body - in many of the pain related systems like the balance method you are looking for increased ROM, decreased pain, etc. at that time - if it isn’t removed or ROM increased, etc. - you may rethink your point selection/techniques until you get the desired immediate result. This is no different at the base than looking for immediate feedback in the pulse, abdominal palpation areas, or point palpation.