Daily acupuncture

forum post

Daily acupuncture

Published on 04-02-2010

"kicsiangelgirl" - this is their first post.

i have been diagnosed with yang rising heat and liver blood stagnation. i daily get headaches and red eyes from stress (and im always angry and frustrated and moody)

i used to get acupuncture treatments once a week , it helped a lot. unfortunatly i have no more money left for the treatments, so i decided to needle myself (im a first year student of acupuncture)

i read somewhere that in china people get needled daily, but here in the usa we do once / twice a week only.

my questions are:

- can i needle myself every day or itll "mess up my qi" ?

- should i needle the same points every day or i should choose different ones?

thank you

anna

This post has the following associations:

Acupoints: li 4, lv 3

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
on Apr 2010

I've answered similar questions before if you search the site for "frequency" you will get my general opinions on the matter. For you as a practitioner I would say a few things. First treating yourself particularly without an understanding of what you are doing (but even with it) is not a good idea. For one it hinders your ability to learn and for two it is difficult to be objective in forming your own diagnosis. You could certainly do acupressure or even some moderate needling on a general point such as LV 3 or the four gates (LV 3 w/ LI 4) or take an herbal formula, perhaps something like Xiao Yao Wan.