Deep cold, superficial heat

forum post

Deep cold, superficial heat

Published on 01-28-2016

"Paul_Johnson" has authored 1 other post.

Hello,
I am a student of Chinese medicine, still learning. I’ve been experiencing a deep cold sensation in my body with an aversion to cold; and heat sensations superficially that tend to come in flushes throughout my trunk originating at the kidney level. I’ve experienced kidney yin deficiency, diagnosed by a Chinese doctor, earlier this year. I’ve worked to build it back up and have made good progress. Yet, I’m curious why I feel this deep cold with superficial heat. I intensely crave hot foods like beef, red peppers, and cayenne. Although I’m not sure this would benefit my condition. My biggest discomfort is the aversion to cold. Any thoughts?

Below are the most recent, view all here.

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
on Jan 2016

Well let’s start with figuring out if your initial diagnosis was correct. What initial signs did you have to support the kidney yin deficiency diagnosis? When you say you’ve “worked to build it back up” - what specifically have you done and what has improved (in very specific terms)?

If you are truly averse to cold you don’t have kidney yin deficiency, or you have a very layered issues which would be unlikely for your age. But I’ll reserve any more comment until I have more information from the questions above.

top Login/Comment

comment by "Paul_Johnson"
on Jan 2016

Hi Chad,

Thanks for your quick reply, I really appreciate your insights.
You and I had a short correspondence through this forum about six months ago. I don’t know how to tag a previous post into this one but it is titled “Excessive muscle burning”. I used the search engine and it popped right up.