Lack of will and fear

forum post

Lack of will and fear

Published on 01-19-2016

"chrys" - this is their first post.

Greeting to the yin yang community!

I am trying to identify a condition according to the TCM patterns. It can be described as a lack of will in every aspect, a generalized fear of acting, insomnia and high levels of anxiety that reflects sometimes to GI symptoms.

I am new to TCM and I am trying to figure out the diagnosis. According to what I have already studied it is between Heart Fire and Kidney Yin Deficiency. Are there any other prospective diagnoses?

This post has the following associations:

Acupoints: gb 40, ub 47

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
on Jan 2016

Liver attacking the spleen, liver/gallbladder imbalance, even phlegm misting the heart is a possibility depending on the person and other issues. But, yes, the lack of will is generally kidney deficiency. But the difference between lack of will and stagnation can be difficult to ascertain. Kidney yin deficiency is likely with insomnia and anxiety (but you should have empty heat signs as well to further confirm).

top Login/Comment

comment by "StephenS" (acupuncturist)
on Jan 2016

In addition to the common TCM patterns Chad has mentioned, there is another layer you can also consider and that is role of the five shen.

A lack of will is a characteristic sign of the hun being impaired. The movement of the hun is key to stimulating the shen, which in turn provides a clear and conscious awareness. When the hun slows it’s movement depression and especially low desire/lack of ambition result. Since the hun stimulates the shen, it is also common that shen disorders result in chronic hun conditions, which include anxiety, fearfulness, and insomnia.