New to acupuncture

forum post

New to acupuncture

Published on 12-12-2008

"BlssdXenia" has authored 3 other posts.

I am new to acupuncture and taichi. what do people think about during an acupuncture session? Are you supposed to fall asleep? Do you watch your thoughts?

Is there something you can do that is more helpful to the process than something else?

What are you supposed to think about when you practice tai-chi. I am still learning the basic moves so I am trying to remember what comes next. But am I supposed to be focused on breathing or a certain part of my body.?

Thank you for your help

Below are the most recent, view all here.

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
on Dec 2008

Generally you should do as little as possible during an acupuncture treatment. Some people recommend breathing into areas of tension that may ebb and flow during the treatment or other techniques, but I feel it is best to just do nothing. For myself and the vast majority of my patients they simply fall asleep - so there isn't much to contemplate. This will depend, however, on the points used and the environment, and, I suppose, the practitioner - but acupuncture is rarely anything other than relaxing.

What you don't want to do during a treatment is over control your breath by using some sort of breathing technique or anything else that will cause you to over focus on the different sensations that come up. This is because the energy in your body will flow in its own natural way and you just want to let that process happen to whatever degree you can. The breath, visualizations, etc. can stop this process from happening naturally and will alter the effects of the treatment.