Nutrition, 5 theory and RA

forum post

Nutrition, 5 theory and RA

Published on 02-08-2012

"Picsiedust" - this is their first post.

I am a student nurse studying the effects of the nutrition on Rheumatoid Arthritis. I love the five element theory you described and was wondering if any of the elements (fire, water, etc) represent bones and joints and immune disorders and what foods these these correlate to. Have you had any experience with clients with RA and if so, what did you recommend for them? Any information you could offer me would be much appreciated. Thank you!

This post has the following associations:

Issues/Symptoms: rheumatoid arthritis (ra)

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
on Feb 2012

With regards to the five elements, if you look at the chart on our five element correspondences page, you will see the "tissue" correspondences. So water/kidney is in charge of the bone, liver/wood in charge of the tendons, etc.

With regards to what is good and bad for people with RA it really depends on their underlying TCM diagnosis. So in Chinese Medicine we treat "patterns" not specific conditions so technically RA can have many underlying patterns. Most of these are listed (we are still working on this section heavily however) within the TCM diagnoses block underneath the introduction on all of our conditions pages - ( RA Conditions Page ).

While Feng is correct in that phlegm (arising from sp qi deficiency and other methods) can be part of RA, Kidney Yin deficiency (a common underlying pattern for autoimmune conditions that we see clinically) is often part of the equation.

From a dietary perspective, then, more precise answers are only offered from having a clear diagnosis. But generally avoiding things which lead to "dampness" in the body from a Chinese Medicine perspective is a strong part - so sugar, too much cold/raw foods (salads, etc.), dairy (particularly avoiding drinking milk).

top Login/Comment