The treatment of anxiety

forum post

The treatment of anxiety

Published on 02-25-2008

"lex0070_1" - this is their first post.

Hello,

I am a student to acupuncture. I have a particular interest in the treatment of emotional imbalances.

This forum is really just a short one to ask for some other peoples opinion on the regularity of treatment for emotional imbalances, particularly that of (GAD) Generalized Anxiety, a contant feeling of fear with no known cause.

I have a friend who has GAD. I am interested in it as I used to suffer from this condition also. I beat it in the end by using Cognitive Behaviour Therapy however it was a long and tedious process. One of the main reasons I wanted to get into acupuncture was because when I used to suffer with anxiety I found acupuncture was incredible at bringing on a swift feeling of calm and balance that no other therapy came close to.

The problem with acupuncture was the effect wore off in roughly 2 hours and I could only afford at the time to do it once a week. I know now that once a week is never going to be sufficient for this kind of imbalance, it simply acted as a much apreciated mini holiday away from my condition.

Back to my friend. She is fortunate enough to be able to afford acupuncture daily (alright for some) and has found that she has made some improvement but still feels she could do with it more. I was curious about this and so I went round to do an acupuncture with her and then to measure her pulse afterwards, she was in good balance but this didn't last, within about 2 hours she was significantly out of balance again.

My question is, with a niggly condition such as GAD where imbalance can re accur so swiftly, can one treat according to the imbalance rather than a general opinion of once a day is sufficicent. The later just simply isn't true in my opinion, once a day acts as a nice tea break from a condition, its just not enough to turn the imbalance around, not in a sensible amount of time anyways.