The 12 Officials in TCM Theory

TCM Theory

The 12 Officials in TCM Theory

The "12 Officials" theory is yet another way to describe the inter-relationships and interplay between the organ systems as they are used in Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM). They are described in the 8th chapter of the Huang Di Nei Jing Su Wen and are modeled after a layout of governing systems at that time.

The Twelve Officials

Organ System



Heart Monarch Represents the individual consciousness and serves as the sovereign of all of the organs and wisdom. Leads spiritual transformation
Lung Minister Aids the heart in regulating the qi of the body
Liver General Acts courageously and intelligently, carefully assessing circumstances and planning action
Gall Bladder Impartial Justic Applies discernment to guide appropriate action
Pericardium (Tanzhong, Tandanzhong) Envoy (Ambassador) Where joy is derived from, like a court jester
Stomach / Spleen Officials in Charge of Food Storage Act as officials for food storage and assimilation
Large Intestine Transportation Official Directs the processing of food and the transformation and passage of waste
Small Intestine Receiving Official Receives food from the stomach and spleen and further assimilates, distributes and divides the pure from the turbid (useful vs. waste)
Kidney Health Official Direct the creation of power in the body, distribution and activity of the extremities, coordination, and the mental powers of focus and willpower
Triple Heater (San Jiao, Triple Warmer) Irrigation Official Directs the transformation and use of fluids throughout the body
Urinary Bladder District Official Stores fluids so when they are enacted by qi they can flow outward to the systems

All Content 1999-2024
Chad J. Dupuis / Yin Yang House
Our Policies and Privacy Guidelines
Our Affiliated Clinics