Confused about expansion/contraction foods connected to yin/yang

forum post

Confused about expansion/contraction foods connected to yin/yang

Published on 04-08-2012

"anon249689" - this is their first post.

I'm a beginner to understanding yin/yang and am having some trouble understanding how yin/yang are expansive/contractive respectively. When I think of yin, I think of dark, cool, inward, dense and yet yin foods are expansive, which doesn't make sense to me. I would think of yin foods as contractive. Similarly with yang, I think of light, warm, outward, sparse and yet yang foods are contractive.

It seems contradictory to me.

Can someone please help me better understand this?

Thank you!

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "archived-user"
on Apr 2012

By physics theory, hot thing is expansion, cold thing is contraction, hot is yang, cold is yin. So hot food is expansion, cold food is contraction.

top Login/Comment

comment by "anon57843"
on Apr 2012

Hi there

It&#39s not quite a simple as hot/cold or expansive/contractive, I&#39m afraid. Chinese Medicine uses food as therapy, not just as nutrition, so a lot does depend on the state of a body before deciding the dietary approach. So, a good grounding in medical theory helps. However, that&#39s not possible for most lay people, so it&#39s a good idea to just get to grips with yin/yang in the first place before applying it to food. The main challenge we westerners face is in realising yin/yang is not dualistic, it does not take an either/or approach as we tend to in western theory. It&#39s more about shifting energies within the forms themselves, as well as influence on each form.