Empty heat / five palms heat

forum post

Empty heat / five palms heat

Published on 05-10-2016

"anon172486" has authored 9 other posts.

Hell everyone–

For the past couple months I’ve had heat emerging from my palms and the soles of my feet, usually in the early morning and evening, but also periodically across the day. I suspect that it had been manifesting before, but I was too distracted by other issues (below) to pinpoint it. From my internet browsing, it seems I have some form of Empty Heat / Yin Deficiency. I don’t seem to be really displaying many of the other symptoms, mostly just the heat, which is annoying but not really painful.

Some background: I’ve been burning the candle at both ends for several years now, using caffeine and sugar to get through the work day when fatigued – many cups of green tea and/or coffee. Throw in a low-volume smoking habit (2-4 an evening) and poor sleep habits due to the over-stimulation, and I suppose my body was due for a wake-up call. I quit the cigs at the end of January, right around the time I caught a nasty reoccurring infection (I work at a school) and I wasn’t quite ‘right’ until the beginning of April. At the moment I’m suffering some stomach issues – probably due to stress and/or SIBO – and the palm heat that comes and goes.

I’ve restarted my Tai Chi practice in the past three weeks and that seems to somewhat relieve the symptoms - after 30 minutes of gentle stretching and breathing, the Five Palms heat feels reduced. For the most part, the 5PH is not as strong as it was 2-3 months ago. I’ve really reduced sugars and caffeine and am sleeping more hours/better thanks to melatonin & tai chi before bedtime.