Herminated thoratic disc

forum post

Herminated thoratic disc

Published on 01-29-2017

"anon37471" - this is their first post.

hello,
i’m a beginner in the field of veterinary acupressure.
i have a new client- a dog after a disc operation in T10-T11. he has weakness of hind legs and some neurological deficiencies.
my question is: in those kind of cases, do you only treat the obvious issue of the neurological deficiency, or do you also treat the whole imbalances the patient might have?
(emotional state, deficient Yin, Liver Wind…)
at the moment in working ki 3, bl 60, bl 40, GV 4, bl 23, bl 11.
thank you!
michal

This post has the following associations:

Acupoints: cv 20, ex huatuojiaji, gb 34, gb 39, gv 20

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
on Jan 2017

Generally speaking you always treat as completely as possible - you will get better results. Some of the basic ideas of point selection are in my article “acupuncture point treatment plan - general point selection rules”.

Generally about 1/3 of the points are for the patients root diagnosis, 1/3 are for the localized issues or how the imbalance in manifesting and about 1/3 are between those two and may change with other correspondences (seasons, time of day, other acute unrelated issues, etc.).

Not knowing all the details, your points seem fine but I would likely add GB 34, GV 20 and the huatuo area of T9-T12. And very likely some other work further down the spine.

top Login/Comment

comment by "anon37471"
on Feb 2017

thank you for the quick reply!
i wanted to use GB 20 but was unsure of this choice- so thanks for helping with that decision!
i used GB 39 since it’s useful for neurological problems, rather than GB 34. do you recommend i switch between the two?

thanks again for your help!

top Login/Comment

comment by "StephenS" (acupuncturist)
on Feb 2017