Practicing Outside of the US?

forum post

Practicing Outside of the US?

Published on 09-19-2010

"GreenRock" - this is their first post.

Hello everyone. I am a frequent visitor to the yinyang house. I am a student of Chinese medice and have only one year left. I am wondering if anyone knows if you can practice outside of the US if you have a diploma and pass the US national test. I used to live in Japan, my girlfriend is Korean and I am also very interesed in living in Northern Europe (mosty Sweden). Can my credits transfer to another school outside of the US? I can find information about practing from state to state but what about countries? I also hold a degree in international studies and don't want to be confined to America for the rest of my Acupuncture life. So does anybody know if American stuff transfers to other countries? Thank you and I look forward to being a member of the forum.

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
on Sep 2010

You will, of course, have to a be quite a bit more specific as to where you are interested in practicing because the correct answer to your question will depend entirely on that. Generally speaking, however, the answer to your question is no our training is not directly transferable to most countries.

Even within the United States the laws governing the practice are far from uniform. Our national agencies have made slow but important headway in this endeavor, but much is left to be done. As a practitioner it is still less than trivial even moving state to state depending on where you went to school, your qualifications, and how much money you have and there are a few states that still do not license acupuncture.