Tom Tam palpation

forum post

Tom Tam palpation

Published on 01-06-2011

"archived-user" has authored 334 other posts.

Submitted By: pook

Hi Chad, I bought the Tom Tam healing system book a few months ago and have been meaning to ask you a question regarding point location.

Tom constantly mentions that there will probably be a 'knot' at T5 for instance. Quite often I will be treating someone for a condition (using TCM but trying to integrate Tom Tam system into practice) and palpate the relevant huato jiaji points and not feel any areas of stagnation. Am I taking it too literally about looking for 'knots' in the huatojiaji area ie, 0.5 cun from the spine or should I be looking in the general area as far as the outer BL line or even further? I figure I have pretty good palpation skills as I have been doing bodywork for 12 years but I thought maybe I was missing something here.

Cheers from Aus

Luke

Below are the most recent, view all here.

• What is a cun? - 12-31-2021
  • Acupuncture Education for DO's and MD's - 12-31-2021
  • Ion Cords - 12-31-2021
  • Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
    on Jan 2011