Five element foods

forum post

Five element foods

Published on 11-02-2020

"anon146935" has authored 2 other posts.

Hello, I have a question about what foods nourish what organ. I have looked online, and foods like Kale I see that some websites say it’s for the liver while other ones it says it’s for the stomach and another said it was heart. I just want to know a source that is the standard for food charting in TCM. I have noticed that foods color matches with the five element color of the organ but other times it does not, what else do i look for to identify what organ a food nourishes (taste, color, texture) ?

Thank you for your time, I appreciate this opportunity that this website offers.

Below are the most recent, view all here.

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "anon149031"
on Nov 2020

Hi Frank,

I’m not a TCM professional, but my understanding of it is that the kind of specificity one might use in creating an herbal formula is not needed in dietary therapy. That is, to nourish any deficiency, a middle burner tonifying diet is always used. The essence of that diet is lightly, freshly cooked whole foods served warm, avoiding anything served cold (including water) or raw (a little bit of raw foods, like a small handful of raw walnuts, or a little raw tomato in summer time might be ok).

Different authors have different perspectives on the qualities of foods. Those perspectives may have certain adherents, but I’m not sure if there is a definitive one. The good news is that following sound dietary principles may be more important.

There are a couple books I could recommend, but I’m not sure what YY House’s policy is on plugging books. I’ll hold off for now.

top Login/Comment

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
on Nov 2020

Our site has some of the basics in the five element nutrition theory section within the larger TCM nutrition theory section.