Fire Preparation (dry-frying)

forum post

Fire Preparation (dry-frying)

Published on 08-18-2012

"Catfishy1" has authored 1 other post.

I am a student of Acupuncture. I have this homework assignment and I am a bit stuck. Here is the question:

Q: In the fire process, there's a method called "stir-baking with liquids", please list and explain the purpose to process herbs with liquids such as: (Hint) honey, vinegar, wine, ginger juice, salt water.

I am thinking the answer is to encourage the herbs being processed either be enhanced to go to the organs in question or to encourage an herb that would not normally go to a specific organ to go where we want it to. Even if you do not want to give me the actual answer I would really like to know what book I can reference for Stir-Baking with Liquids.

Thank you so much!

This post has the following associations:

Herbs: chao huang bai

Below are the most recent, view all here.

• Sì Shéng Cōng - 12-31-2021
  • Comments / Discussions:

comment by "Catfishy1"
    on Aug 2012

I workd hard for this one... Here is how I answered the question.

This procedure is a method to correct herbal properties, increase, reduce their actions or their side effects by infusing them with the liquids properties during processing. The liquids offer different effects.

Honey Stir-Baked Herbs - These tend to moistening the lung and relieving cough, and reduce some toxic effects.

Wine Stir-Baked Herbs - This combination is aimed at the promotion of blood circulation, expelling wind, as well as reduce some side-effects.

Ginger Juice Stir-Baked Herbs - Reduces bitter flavors of other herbs and upset stomach caused by herbs that are cold in nature or upset stomach alone.

Vinegar Stir-Baked Herbs - Can soothe the liver and relieve pain. Vinegar is known to be an astringent and analgesic. As before it can reduce the toxicity.